Last Day in Rome

Ciao,

It is with great sadness that I write today’s blog post. It will be the last time I ever write a blog post from Rome. So far the day has been filled with nothing but packing and cleaning the apartment. It seems that every time we look at a picture or clean certain area of the house we all sit down and begin to reminisce of the great times we had here in Rome.

Years from now I will look back and think to myself, “those were the days when I was young and could run through the streets of Rome for hours exploring and experiencing its culture. Those were the days I could stay up for 2 consecutive days and bounce from train to train exploring Italy. Those were the days where I hated being so far away from my girlfriend, yet they taught me how much I love her. Those were the days I refused to eat because I missed my mother’s cooking, but then again it taught me how to cook. Those were the days all I wanted to do was drive my car, but then again I met many interesting people on the train and buses. Those were the days were all I wanted to do was come home to Merced, but then again now I know what it is like to live abroad.”

Last day in Rome

At the end of the day it isn’t just a specific monument or artwork that I’ll miss, it is everything! I will miss every little detail that I expereinced in Rome. I will miss how there was never any room on the train to school and we were all squished like sardines. I will miss the fountains of water being everywhere so no one is ever thirsty. I will miss how drivers almost aim for you as you cross the street. I will miss how old Italian ladies yell at me for no apparent reason. I will miss the look on peoples faces when I speak to them in my broken Italian. I will miss everything dearly…

Though I depart from Rome with sadness in my heart, I am glad I got to experience it. It’s just like Dr. Seuss said, “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened”. I am more than glad that I was able to experience Italy this spring, and I know my fellow UC students feel the same way!

So with that being said this concludes the end of an incredible chapter in our lives, and now we move on to Part II of Study Abroad 2016!

Leave a Reply

