Work Work Work Work Work…

Hola,

First thing is first, when I say I am going to do something I am going to do it! So with that being said, guess who celebrated and had an awesome dinner last night for their birthday?!

450 Gram burger
450 gram burger from New York Burger, Madrid (credit: Esteban Martinez)

A few hours into the night my final class started off with the entire class serenading me followed by them serenading my roommate since his birthday was a day before mine. After the class ended we went out to dinner accompanied by some of our friends. What I find most interesting about dinner is that out of all the places we could have eaten in Spain we choose the New York Burger where I had a burger with a patty thick enough to be mistaken for a steak. Our good old fashion american meal sure did hit the spot, but the best part of it was just being with friends.

In other news, today I spent the greater part of the day at work where I intern for a marketing firm. It was my first official day as an intern rather than just an interest. I am glad that I was offered a position and accepted into such an ambitious firm, though I did not expect to be placed on 3 different projects all within a few hours. I was warned that my boss was the type of man to jump from one idea to the next and tended to pounce on projects and see to it that they were not only completed but that they were done so in such a creative and wild way. Though  I cannot get into specifics about my projects due to legal reasons, I will say that boy were they right about this being an ambitious company and having a crazy boss! He is as ambitious as he is innovative, he is almost the embodiment of what every entrepreneur wishes to be.

There are many things I enjoy about my internship, but so far my favorite thing is that the office where I work at is located right in front of the Palacio Real de Madrid. This palace serves as the official residence of the king and the royal family, though the family nor the king actually live here. Instead the palace is used for official state ceremonies and is even owned by the state itself under a department overseen by the king.

Palacio Real de Madrid
Palacio Real de Madrid (credit: Esteban Martinez)
Leave a Reply

