Día del Padre

Hola,

**cue the trumpets** Today June 19, 2016 is Fathers Day, maybe not here in Spain but it is in the States! I know this blog is about my study abroad experience, but in all honesty without my father I would not be here today.

Without sounding totally cliche, my father is indeed the strongest man I have ever met. Maybe not when it comes to lifting weight, but when it comes to never giving up he is the one I have always looked up to. He taught me everything I need to know to be a man. He taught me how the best way to defeat your enemies is to make them your friends. He taught me how to that the greatest thing in this world isn’t money or objects – it’s family. He taught me that a mans word is worth more than gold. He taught me that there are two types of people in this world: those who assume & those who listen. If I wrote everything my father has ever taught me then this list could go on for a few more hours… So I’ll spare you the pain. Let’s just say my father taught me everything I would ever need to know in order to not only survive in this world, but to LIVE in it and enjoy all of its beauties and love unconditionally.

Everything I am today is because of my father. My father the upholsterer, the carpenter, the painter, the hard worker, the loyal one, the brave one, the honest one, the strong one, the tip of the spear used to tackle the toughest of problems, the shield that withstands the hardest of hammer strikes. My father the stubborn one, the leader, the fighter, the warrior, the beast, the anchor and the sails, the the one who would never under any circumstances give up his hope nor religion! Whether you know him or not, if you ask anyone who does they’d tell you how loyal he is, or how he carries himself, and how despite seeming so intimidating at first he is actually one of the nicest people you will ever meet. I have been told by many that he tends to have a certain impact on their lives when they meet him. What I find most interesting is that when people talk about all these great characteristics I often can’t tell if they are talking about me or my father. And that is truly priceless!

Father 101.png
My father, as always, where he goes there is laughter

His name is Antonio Martínez Martínez (that’s right this isn’t a type-o, he’s a double dose of MARTINEZ), and I am his son.

“I am the Son of my Fathers, The Son of Kings”

Out of all the things I am the one thing I will never be called is a failure, all because of one man. Through his example, dedication, and hard work I am able to be here 6,000 miles away studying in a foreign place, not to mention the first to ever do so in the history of our family.

Pero todo solo por que un gran hombre me dijo que soy su orgullo! (Translation: And all because a great man said that I was his pride and joy!). So to him, and to all fathers, Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

