Key to Success

Hola,

If you’ve been reading my blog since the beginning you’ll know that it’s a foregone conclusion to say that I have gone on adventures and had amazing experiences; you would also know that I have been working hard in my internship and that I worked hard in school. What you don’t know is how I got here.

Obviously I took a plane here, but that’s not what I really mean when I say ‘how I got here’. What I mean by here is here in this position: I am barely even 20 years old and I have traveled to Europe and held a job there too! So how did I get here?

The answer to the question is a very complex one as there have been many many factors that have helped lead me to where I am today, but nevertheless it can be simplified down to this: patience, passion and perseverance equals success!

That’s right, it’s that simple. I kid you not it is that simple! All three of these things are needed in order to have success! They all need to be obtained equally and have more or less the same amount of work put into them. One really important thing I need to point out first is that before you can begin with all the hard work and all, you need to define what success is to you.

For instance, to me success in regards to studying abroad meant that I would go abroad and kick butt at my internship and give everyone a reason to say “wow, where can we find more people like you” and I could answer them with “there are none like me.” So yeah, a pretty ambitious goal as you can see.

Let’s break it down a little further though, shall we?

Patience

Believe it or not patience is a huge part of success. It is often overlooked because it is something so simple that people just don’t give it the credit it deserves. In regards to studying abroad patience is vital. There are plenty of instances I can point out that you would need in order to just survive the experience. For example you need to patient for: your application to be process and accepted, your flight (8-16 hours), when you can’t understand what people are saying to you, and my personal favorite when it’s time to eat. Theses are just but a mere handful of things you need to be patient for. Above all else, the best example I can give you is directly correlated with Perseverance, if you don’t have patience you might just give up before the battle even really begins.

Perseverance

It’s not an option, it is something you do or don’t do. You either go hard or you don’t go at all; and even when you get knocked down, what matters is how you get back up! One example I can share with you is in my internship the first time I was given an assignment I turned it in only to get it handed right back to me approximatly 3 minutes later with a bunch of red pen markings all over it and told to go fix it and re-submit it. What I could have done was just given up or put in minimal effort, but I didn’t! I took another 3 hours but I fixed it all, and the next day I came in and my boss said that yesterday’s ‘incident’ was a test to see if I would sit there and pout about it or if I would get back up and take another shot. Essentially he knew I wasn’t going to do the assignment right because I had no previous knowledge of the topic, but he chose to give it to me anyways, and guess what – I passed! Had I given up I’d probably just be some regular average intern, but no sir, not me!

Passion

Ooof! PASSION! Another must have. If you go into the whole study abroad experience being negative about it then your result will no doubt be negative. You can’t walk into your office with a “gosh I hate this job” attitude. See, the minute you even think that you don’t want to go to work is the moment you’ve already lost. You’re not going to get very far in any way with a negative attitude. I have said it like 4 times already, and I can’t stress it enough, if you’re negative and you approach work (even school work) with a ‘meh’ attitude you’re not going to get very far. It’s like Master Yoda said, “Do or do not, there is no try!”

I am many things, but there are two things I definitely am not: average, or a quitter. I guarantee you that within these next 15 days I will hit my goal of being one of a kind! Who knows, they might even offer me to stay longer!

key to success.pngOnce you get to the top there will be no falling down, and believe me the view is going to worth it!

Leave a Reply

