5 Weird Things About Australia

During my few weeks here, I’ve jotted down a couple of things that I found a little weird about Australia and I’m going to share them with you!

  1. The sun begins to set at 4pm (currently)

    In Melbourne the sun is gone by 6 PM! Currently in the United States., days are long and the sun doesn’t disappear completely until 9 PM! It was so hard to adjust to the short days again. I felt tired by 7 PM however, waking up at 7 AM was easier. But then again, that might have been the jetlag

  2. Sausage in bread

    Also called a sausage sandwich in other parts of Australia, it’s basically a hotdog in sandwich bread. I think this is weird because they have classic hotdog bread in Australia, just that regular sandwich bread is the traditional “Aussie BBQ” way.

  3. No Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwhiches!

    It’s true! Apparently, PB&Js are an “American” thing, and my housemates from different countries are definitely knocking it before they’ve tried it!

  4. “Four seasons in a day”

    I heard that this would happen multiple times before arriving to Australia, and it didnt take long for me to figure out that this means exactly what it says: Australia (at least Melbourne) will have all four seasons in one day. It will go from freezing cold like winter, breezy like spring, hot like summer, and TONS of rain like the fall. Lesson: be prepared for it all.

  5. Unisex Bathrooms

    I saw the unisex bathroom sign but for some reason I didn’t think much of it. Imagine my face when I walked out of a restroom to wash my hands and a guy comes out of the stall next to me! That’s when I knew what the sign meant! We definitely don’t have those in America!

These are only a few things I have noticed while exploring Melbourne. I’m sure I will discover more weird things that I think are weird while I am here. But the really weird thing is that these things aren’t weird at all. They’re all part of Australia’s culture and lifestyle –  it’s pretty cool  I get to experience and try these things while I am here.

Let it be known though, that while I’m here, my housemates will have to try a PB&J!

Cheers!

Brenda

Leave a Reply

