American Things Australia Doesn’t Have

Cheetos

Yep. Cheetos are not a thing in Australia. Cheese, Hot, Jalapeno, Puffs, nope! Rarely do I ever eat chips but when I do, it’s for sure Cheetos. For some reason now that I am in Australia, I have the strongest craving! If you want chips in AU, you’ll have to buy some Smith Classic potato chips.

Carne Asada

Not just carne asada, but carne asada tacos and burritos! There are some Mexican food restaurants here in Melbourne but the meat options are only chicken, lamb (LAMB in a burrito?!) , pork and a shredded beef option, but it’s just not the same! Safe to say I am definitely missing authentic Mexican food.

Toilet Seat Covers

I am still not use to the restrooms in Australia! On top of some being unisex, NONE of them have toilet seat covers! It’s a law in the US for public restrooms to have toilet seat covers, but they are nonexistent here. I miss those too!

Reeses Peanut Butter Cups

Yep, no peanut butter cups here either. First no PB&J, and now this.  I guess peanut butter isn’t as big of a staple here as it is in the U.S. They must not see it as a candy, since they have all this Nutella around.

Squirrels

This is a random one to put up here but no squirrels in Australia so far. But they do have these little guys:

brushtail Possum.jpg
Common Brushtail Possum

Sometimes they’re not so little. Especially the first time I saw one, I thought it was a cat. But as I got closer I soon noticed that it was definitely not a cat. Big, scary, small mammal eaters! I don’t want to run into one of these again!

My Family

I had to throw this one in here. One month in and already missing home!

Every time I notice something that I can’t find here, it definitely makes me miss home. But I get to see and try (keyword: try) to temporarily replace them with all things Australian. That’s what I am trying to do, but I’m not going to lie, I don’t know how long I can go without carne asada!

Cheers!

Brenda

Leave a Reply

