Birthday

My birthday was this Sunday, August 14th. I became an “official” adult in the U.S. (by social standards), but in Australia, 21 isnt as big as a deal as it is back home.

I didn’t think I was going to celebrate my birthday here, but on Saturday night, thinking I was accompanying a friend to pick up his wallet at another friends house, I was surpised with a birthday party 🙂

All my friends and housemates were waiting for me inside!

14012369_1344159388946914_759924544_o
Melbourne Friends (some not pictured lol)

There was even a cake for me that I honestly can’t get over! It’s so cute!

14055768_1344159398946913_1835753234_n
Birthday Cake! (It’s chocolate with vanilla frosting in case you were wondering.)

It was so special that they threw me a birthday party, especially since it is actually the first time I have ever celebrated my birthday without my parents. I’m not sure how my birthday would have gone in the U.S. but I think this was a perfect birthday.

Of course my friends and family back home would have made it even better, but it was awesome to hang out with all the friends I have made in just a month of being here in Melbourne. Maybe 1 month doesn’t seem like a long time, but these are some of the coolest people I’ve ever met.

Today I am thankful for my time in Melbourne, the people I’ve met,and these awesome party planners 🙂

Cheers to another year of life!

Brenda

Leave a Reply

