Down by the Docklands

Since school has started, there hasn’t been time to explore Melbourne as much as I would like. However, recently a group of friends and I managed to take a trip to the other side of Melbourne, the Docklands.

Even during the Australian winter (U.S. summer), the dock is still very busy! You can hear music from restaurants nearby, a street performer singing, and light-up transformer robot cars dancing  to Daft Punk. I really wish I had taken a picture of that.

But in the winter months in Melbourne, they also have firework shows right over the water! Though it only lasted 7 minutes, it was still a pretty cool show.

But the main attraction is… the Star of Melbourne!

DSCN1409

It definitely seems like every cool city has one of these! London, Singapore, and Melbourne!  This giant ferris wheel stands at  394 feet! 

I was dying to go inside but decided that for 30 bucks I’d rather take a ride during daylight to see all there is to see. I’ll be sure to tell you all about it when I do! (I’m hoping I don’t discover a fear of heights when I do.)

Cheers!

Brenda

Leave a Reply

