Networking

 

Hello again!

So for my first time on an airplane, it wasn’t as bad as I expected it to be. It was actually pleasant other than not being able to sleep comfortably.

My first week in London has been amazing. The weather for some weird reason is sunny- it reminds me of California. There is so much to see and I even already had some really good afternoon tea and scones.

However, what I want to focus on for todays post is, networking. Networking is one of the most important skills to have in college.

The reason why I say that is because my flight changed last minute and I had to be in London a day earlier than planned. Due to it being so close to the departure date I was unable to book accommodations.

Fortunately my travel partner, Norma, was connected to an American who is already living in London. Mike was his name and he was the best friend of Norma’s high school advisor. Mike also happens to be the principal of the American School of London. Due to this connection I had through Norma, Mike offered to host our first night in London.

That first night I was greeted with a warm meal and a comfy bed to sleep in. After the long flight my evening could not have gone better. Thanks to Mike and his family, we had a great first night and morning in London. I am happy to say that my first time out of the country and in a totally different culture, I felt very welcomed.

With networking in mind I knew that it would be easy to meet as many people as possible while in London. Who knows, maybe one day I can come back and work in London!

Tea and Scone
Tea and scones in London, UK
Leave a Reply

