Expectations

Before leaving California, I was stuffing my face with all types of food, such as, La Cumbre burritos, In n Out, Hot Cheeto fries, and of course my moms cooking. Everyone told me that London didn’t have the best cuisine. Since I am a big guy and love to eat, I was kind of scared.

To my surprise, I have not been disappointed with the meals I’ve had here in London. While some places I have gone to have been basic, almost everything I’ve tried so far has been delicious. Whether it’s a chicken sandwich at Nando’s, a wrap from the local farmers market, or a London style burrito, I’ve been quite content. They just need to work on the hot sauce here.

nandos.jpg

Many people also warned me about London’s fashion. Americans tend to put on some Levi’s (jeans), a regular t-shirt, and happily walk out in sandals. My style is similar to that and I thought I would easily stand out since I am pretty laid back, but that hasn’t been the case. Although I am able to blend in, people here do tend to dress fancier.

Americans have stereotypes toward European cities, and assume everyone is so “fancy” here, but I haven’t seen that. While London is the fashion capital of the world, and yes, you do see people dressed up nicely on a regular basis, you have to keep in mind that it’s a city of 8.3 million people. Everyone here has their own style and express themselves in different ways. Some do it with clothing, and others choose different ways to express themselves, sometimes with art or music.

The whole point of this blog is to remind you that when you’re going on a 4 month long journey to somewhere new, try to avoid having too many expectations. While some are good, like safety tips, it’s better to come open minded and experience the city with no stereotypes in the back of your mind.

Leave a Reply

