Does Australia Have a Labor Day?

Happy Labor Day!

Is what I would be saying if I was back home.

However, here in Australia, it’s just another Monday. As my semester in Australia gets closer and closer to the last week, as much as I would love to bring Labor Day celebrations of BBQ’s day trips to Yosemite and, of course, honoring the working people, to Australia…homework and essays just will not let me today.

So for this (American) Labor Day I will celebrate by attending my Marketing Communications lecture, meeting my Management team for our group assignment, and instead of a day trip to Yosemite, I’ll take a trip to my favorite Uni Melb library for some study time!

I guess you could say I am a little sad about not getting a Labor Day. But when I look on the bright side, since seasons are reversed here in Australia, so are semesters. Which means, although there is no final weekend of summer for me, there will be a spring break during my “Fall” Semester abroad, and I am definitely counting down the days!

Happy Labor Day all the way from a library in Australia,

Brenda

 

Leave a Reply

