The Importance of Self Care

Hello again,

One of the most important things that I have learned throughout college is the concept of self care and how important it is to always perform this. These last few days were very difficult for me as I got a fever. Not to mention that earlier last week I injured my ankle playing football (soccer) at the local pitch.

injured-ankle

However, I can only blame myself for the fever, since I went out to play football and got drenched in one of those unpredictable London rain storms. I came back home that day, showered, then went out again into the cold city. It seemed like I was asking to get sick, now that I think about it. ]

So the following day seemed to be going fine until the evening when I started to feel light headed and really warm, and then cold. To my surprise I was coming down with a fever. By the time Monday came around and I was feeling the full symptoms of this fever, however, I still managed to get out of bed and go to class.

When I got out of class I knew I needed to lay down so went straight to bed and I didn’t wake up until like 8 p.m. At this point I knew that the only way I could make this go away was with rest and a good diet. So I ate something warm, drank lots of tea and water, and went back to sleep.  Tuesday morning I woke up feeling rested but my body was aching, so I stayed in bed until I could feel the fever leaving later that day.

I can’t express how important it is to take care of yourself while in college and away from home (or just in general, really!). Luckily for me I don’t get very sick often, but when I do its pretty bad.

Anyways, take care guys! Don’t forget to practice self care!

Cheers!


Leave a comment