Back to the Future, London Style

Hello again,

It has been about 3 weeks since I have been in London. I’d like to share that one of the reasons why I chose this program was the opportunity to live in a dense city. However, in the short time I have been here I noticed that London takes a different approach to the city life.

hotel

What I mean by that is that London is nothing like New York or even San Francisco. When I think of a city, I think of tall buildings and modern architecture. However, London has the craziest mixture of buildings. The skyline includes churches from the 17th century to modern day skyscrapers. With this amazing intertwining of architectural styles, it is difficult to not get a sense of the past and the present. It almost feels like a modern 18th century, but where a beautiful Victorian palace is situated next to modern train station. All throughout London you will run across different time periods and even locations.

greek-statues

Not to mention that London has a park every mile. The integrations of parks in central London make it feel less like a city. Also, to my surprise, people actually meet in the parks, sit in the grass, and even take naps in the grass. The parks encourage people to get some fresh air and enjoy the trees, especially in sunny weather. Every day that I am here I fall in love with this place more and more.

For those of you who love nature, but really want to live in a big, diverse city, London is the place for you!

russel-square

Leave a Reply

