Danke Berlin

After I began to know London better, I started traveling to a few U.K cities. Last week I wanted to be spontaneous, so some friends and I bought tickets to Berlin, Germany for the following day. Let me tell you, it was one of the best choices I ever made.

I left my flat around 3:00 am since our flight was leaving at at 5:50 am. Everything went fine and the flight was around 2 hours long. I used that time to sleep, and before I knew it I was in Berlin! As I was arriving in Berlin I felt a bit of a culture shock, mainly because in order to take the U-Bahn (the subway), the machine is in German and of course everyone speaks German. We somehow made it work and got to the hostel in the centre of Berlin.

dsc_9626thumbnail_DSC_9565.jpg

thumbnail_DSC_9564.jpg

The hostel was more than amazing. I had a bad experience with hostels once, but this one did not disappoint. My friends and I then proceeded to go eat some Asian food, which was ironic since all we wanted was to be cultured and try German food. It was definitely one of the best ramen I’ve ever had.

DSC_9596-1.jpg

Something I noticed right away from Berlin was that it’s cold and wet, which made people gather in one area. This made certain areas look really dark and lonely. I didn’t feel comfortable at first, but once I went to the crowded places, the atmosphere changed. I also want to add that one of the best burgers I’ve ever ate in my entire life was in Berlin, and it was cheap too!

DSC_9669.jpg

I have a friend from UC Merced studying in Berlin, Regina, who was free and she showed me around town. I was lucky to have her show me local hotspots and not just tourist attractions. Seeing the Berlin wall, the Gate, TV Tower, the river… I couldn’t help but feel so fortunate to be in this beautiful city. While some people are reserved and prefer not too help tourists, many were more than delighted to help me and talk to me.

berlinwall2.jpg

thegateagain.jpg

Danke Berlin, which means “thank you Berlin”. For the memories and the amazing hospitality. You are a city with so much history but has grown so much on me. Stay beautiful!

Leave a Reply

