Professional Experience!

Hi again,

So through my participation in this program I was fortunate enough to have the option of applying for an internship. At the beginning of the application process, it almost seemed like it wasn’t worth it due to all the extra requirements I had to submit and a $500 fee. However close to the deadline I decided that I couldn’t let an opportunity like this out of my hands and so I submitted the application.

I guess my biggest motivator at the time was that I was so used to working while always going to school and the thought of it changing made me feel uncomfortable. However it was also about the opportunity to gain work experience in a different country. I remember thinking, this is gonna look amazing on my resume! So after submitting the application I participated in a Skype interview. Then sometime after I was contacted about being chosen to participate in the internship. After sometime speaking and  talking about my interests with the organization they found a placement that I would fit in to. Little did I know that it was gonna mean so much to be working.

Every Wednesday for the rest of the semester I will wake up and head to work, loving what I do and feeling great about it. I was placed in a charity known as, Elfrida Rathbone Camden (ERC)  who’s mission is to make a difference in the lives of disabled children, young people and adults. When it comes to disabled people in education ,the U.K. educational system does not provide much aid. Within ERC there is the Leighton Educational Project which is a 3 year further education program for young adults with disabilities that I am assisting with. So my workday literally consists of helping people learn academics, life skills and even making independent, educated choices. The days that I work are what push me forward to reach my academic and professional goals; sometimes it doesn’t even feel like a job.

In life you will have to make numerous critical decisions. If you are deciding whether to take advantage of an opportunity, do not hesitate. Odds are at the end of the day you will be very happy you did.

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

