Gotta Eat Fruits and Veggies

A small adventure in Melbourne:

Melbourne is a big urban city and, as I’ve mentioned, very different from my hometown. One of the differences I’ve noticed recently is the price of my fruits and veggies. Fruit and vegetables are expensive here; I assume that’s just because the cost of living is high here in Australia, and also becauseI live smack dab in the center of Melbourne!

In my hometown, it was normal to see fruit stands on the corner of the road, and you’d get 6 baskets of strawberries for 10 bucks. That’s definitely not the case here in Melbourne.

BUT…after whining to my housemates about missing the crazy amount of fruits I consumed at home, they were shocked I had not visited the Queen Victoria Farmers Market.

I WISH I WOULD HAVE KNOWN SOONER!

I didn’t think I would like living in such a big city, but I love the fact that there is always something to discover. Whether it’s a store, cafe, or farmers market.

It was such a cute farmers market and much cheaper than the grocery store. I bought my fruits and even bout some bought some avocados (4 for $5) and made some guacamole!

Still not as cheap as 10 avos for a dollar in California, but it’s a start.

Cheers!

Brenda

 

 

Leave a Reply

