Barcelona, Spain!

WOW

That is all I can say to sum up my experience in the beautiful city of Barcelona.

I got to Barcelona at 1 am on Friday and right when I got off my plane, I knew I would fall in love with this city. While the first night it was raining, it was not cold, and I enjoyed the weather a lot.

Something I noticed right when I walked out of the airport were palm trees! It is too cold in London for palm trees, so seeing them in Barcelona amazed me. We rode the bus through the streets and, although it was very late at night on a week day, the streets were pretty busy and many shops and business were still open. I was in awe with everything, trying to take it in.

I have to give credit to our Airbnb host, Carlos, he was very helpful and gave us a lot of touristy things to do while also advising us on some of the stuff the locals enjoy doing!

We woke up early Friday morning and went out to explore. Taking the Metro around was very easy and luckily since I speak fluent Spanish, it was easy to communicate with the locals. Park Güell was the first stop on our list. I was amazed by the size and the beauty of this park and I fell in love with Barcelona even more. One thing that stood out to me was that although it is a very popular destination, there was enough room to walk around and enjoy the scenery.

dsc_0073

Next we went to the Sagrada Familia. Started in 1882 and it is still NOT completed, but it is beautiful and so worth seeing. I can’t believe how long it has taken them to construct it. We then walked around and I was so excited to find a Mexican restaurant, owned by actual Mexicans. The tacos were delicious!

We also visited the beach and luckily it was warm enough to swim. Everyone was so care-free and enjoying themselves. We also visited the gothic village which I really liked since I enjoy buildings that are old and scary looking.

I have to say, out of all the locations I traveled too this past week, Barcelona takes the the #1 spot. I have never felt so happy or in love with a city before in my life. I know I will return there in the near future and who knows, maybe even move there someday.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

