Confused…

I didn’t do anything special this week, and the only special thing I’m doing this weekend is seeing my favorite rock band. Other than that I don’t have much planned, so I decided to talk about the different emotions I’ve felt while being here in London.

DSC_9539.jpg

During my first few weeks here, I couldn’t help but feel overwhelmed with excitement. I fell in love with the people, the architecture, and just the thought of being in the UK and so close to Europe. I knew that I never wanted to leave this place, and I still don’t. Then after I started having a daily routine, I started feeling more homesick. Don’t get me wrong, the emotions I had at the beginning of my experience were definitely still there, but I started to miss my family and friends back home. At this time, school had begun and my fraternity brothers and friends were out doing their own thing. My mom was meeting up with my family, and, well, I wasn’t there. Of course I was not missing out on that much, and when I would speak to them that’s exactly what they would tell me ,but I still would get a lot of FOMO (fear of missing out).

Once I began traveling back in October, I started getting over that FOMO and homesickness. After visiting Germany, I was excited and anxious to begin traveling more. Oddly enough, once I started traveling, I felt homesick – but not homesick for California,  homesick for London.

London has really grown on me and I can happily say it is my home-away-from-home. Now that I’ve returned from my travels to Europe and am back in London again, I’m excited to travel a bit more. I’m also getting sad about having to leave this beautiful city in just 7 weeks. The people, the life, the history here – it’s all just something I wish didn’t have to leave, or something I could take home with me.

thumbnail_IMG_1947.jpg

Saying all this, I’m just happy I got this chance to be abroad. I would not change it for the world and would recommend it to anyone and everyone if they asked me for my opinion on it.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

