See You All Later!

Hello,

So… this is my last post during my semester in London, and it’s a bittersweet one indeed. Blogging my experience abroad has been one of the best decisions I have made on this journey. It is very difficult to believe that I will be flying back home to California in 3 weeks. To be honest, there’s mixed emotions on the whole process.

Overall my journey has been rather life changing and filled with many lessons about everyday living, and who I am as a person. The highlight of my experience abroad has been traveling alone; it introduced me to a new perspective on traveling that many don’t experience either for lack of opportunity or fear. It is difficult to put into words, but the closest I can come to expressing what it’s like to travel solo is this:

There is a certain power and control you feel when traveling alone, almost as if the whole outcome and satisfaction of your trip rests in your hands, and yours only. Like having the knowledge that this trip can be the best no matter what goes wrong. While also taking it upon yourself to meet new people.

Also, one of the best things about being so far away from loved ones knowing you are going to return to them. Distance teaches you to appreciate others and that is one of the many things you learn studying abroad. I am beyond excited to see my family (especially my mom), Pluto (my dog) and Prezi (my car).

mom
Mom
pluto
Pluto
car
Prezi

Ultimately, traveling is not all about the location or even who you are with, it is a lot deeper than that.

Many capture memories through a picture, but there is a special way to capture memories through the emotions you felt during the event. Something that I think I always knew in my heart but was put into words recently by my boss is that “people don’t remember much of what they do, but they do remember what they felt while doing it.”

A perfect example of this, was the feeling I got when I crossed the rope bridge over a 100 foot drop surrounded by an amazing scenery. Words cannot describe the rush of emotions I felt, that’s why it is something I will never forget.

Lastly, I want to end by just showing gratitude to those who supported me and motivated me on this journey. A big thank you to:

Norma Hernandez, Linda Gold, Danielle Davis, Corinne Lucero, Silvana Johnston, Kia Tan, and all my family.

All I can say now is to never give up on your dreams and always take risks, you never know what you’ll learn along the way. Thanks for joining me!

Cheers!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

